History of the American Youth Basketball Tour

The American Youth Basketball Tour (AYBT) was formed in 1995 by a group of basketball enthusiasts dedicated to developing the talents of youth basketball players.

From the beginning, the mission of AYBT has been to develop youth basketball players while also promoting social skills, teamwork and good sportsmanship. An additional goal of the organization is to develop a scholarship program for financially disadvantaged youth to participate in AYBT.

Today, AYBT is a non-profit corporation headed by a structured governing body. The founders who remain active include Jim Goorman, Bob Linman, Steve Albertson, Bob Reason, Kirk Glassel, Dave Kreps, Kirk Whiteman, Dennis Bravick and Brian Evans.

AYBT’s Midwest and East Coast district directors are responsible for player and team development in Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, Iowa, Missouri, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, West Virginia, Maryland, Minnesota, South Dakota, Kentucky, Tennessee and Canada.